Foreign Minister: The Council of Arab and African Coastal States of the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aden is a Joint Action System for Coordination and Cooperation

Monday 1441/5/11 - 2020/01/06
  • Share on Google+

Riyadh, January 6, 2020, SPA -- Prince Faisal bin Farhan bin Abdullah, Minister of Foreign Affairs, affirmed that the signing of the Foreign Ministers of the Council of Arab and African Coastal States of the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aden, on the founding charter reflects the keenness of the leaders of the importance of coordination and consultation on the vital waterway, which represents economic, commercial and investment importance for entire global economy where the Red Sea is the main transit point for world trade between the East Asian countries and Europe.
During a press conference following the meeting, the Foreign Minister said: "In light of the increasing challenges in the region, we must exert efforts and coordinate among our countries to reach integration among us in all fields within framework of preserving security and stability as well as achieving development in a way that achieves prosperity for our countries," affirming that the council is a joint action system for coordination and cooperation.
He stressed that the headquarters of the Council will be in Riyadh, disclosing that the critical stage in the region is a major factor in establishing this entity through joint efforts exerted by the region's countries to preserve their interests and interests of their peoples.
"Currently, there is no conception to build any new military force. All countries have defensive capabilities. Bilateral coordination between these countries. Under the umbrella of the Council, it can be developed with a collective coordination," Prince Faisal said.
It is noteworthy that the Arab and African Coastal States of the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aden that signed the founding charter are the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, the Arab Republic of Egypt, the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, the Republic of Sudan, the Republic of Yemen, the State of Eritrea, the Federal Republic of Somalia, and the Republic of Djibouti.
18:12 LOCAL TIME 15:12 GMT