Philippines Bans Travel from Japan, 19 Locations Amid Virus Variant

Thursday 1442/5/16 - 2020/12/31
  • Share on Google+

Tokyo, Dec 31, 2020, SPA -- The Philippines will bar the entry of travellers from Japan and 19 other countries and territories, Kyodo cited the country's transport ministry as saying Tuesday.
This came as the Southeast Asian nation tries to keep out a new, possibly more transmissible variant of the coronavirus.
The ministry said the ban will be effective from Wednesday until Jan. 15 and applies only to foreign nationals who wish to travel to the Philippines.
Returning Philippine citizens will be allowed back into the country but must quarantine for 14 days.
"Travelers from any other country that subsequently reports the presence of the new COVID-19 strain shall likewise be banned from entering the Philippines," the country's Transportation Department said in an advisory.
Aside from Japan, the others included in the travel ban are Australia, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Lebanon, the Netherlands, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.
Britain has already been under a travel ban since Dec. 24, which was due to expire at the end of the month, but the date has been extended to Jan. 15, in line with the new measures.
The ministry said travellers who are already in transit and arrive before the new restrictions start will be allowed entry into the country but must submit to PCR testing and a mandatory 14-day quarantine period.
20:19 LOCAL TIME 17:19 GMT