Interior Ministry: Suspension of Flights to and from South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Lesotho, and Eswatini

Friday 1443/4/21 - 2021/11/26
  • Share on Google+

Riyadh, November 26, 2021, SPA -- An official source at the Ministry of Interior announced that with regard to what was previously announced on the temporary suspension of entry from some countries to the Kingdom of Saudi Arabia for reasons related to the outbreak of the emerging Coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic, and based on the constant follow-up of the epidemiological situation, and what the competent health authorities in the Kingdom have submitted about the emergence of a mutated strain of the Coronavirus (COVID-19) in several countries, and the movement of infected people from these countries to other countries, it has been decided to suspend the flights from and to South Africa, Namibia, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Lesotho, and Eswatini.
The official source said that the non-Saudi passengers aboard flights arriving directly and indirectly from the aforementioned countries shall not be allowed into the Kingdom except for those who have spent at least 14 days in another country whose health procedures in the Kingdom allow entry to those coming from it, in accordance with the approved health procedures, adding that all excluded categories coming from these countries, including citizens of the Kingdom, will undergo a 5-day institutional quarantine regardless of their immunization status.
The official source reiterated that all procedures and measures are subject to continuous evaluation by the competent health authorities in the Kingdom, per the developments of the epidemiological situation globally, cautioning citizens and residents to avoid traveling to the aforementioned countries until further notice.
20:53 LOCAL TIME 17:53 GMT