Winners of Prince Sultan bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water announced

الأربعاء 1431/11/19 هـ الموافق 2010/10/27 م واس
  • Share on Google+

Riyadh, 19 Zul-Qaeda 1431 H. / 27 October 2010, SPA -- Prince Khalid bin Sultan bin Abdulaziz, Assistant Minister of Defense and Aviation and Inspector General for Military Affairs who is also Chairman of Prince Sultan bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water Council, chaired a meeting at his office at the Ministry of Defense in Riyadh today to determine the winners of this year's 4th Prince Sultan bin Abdulaziz International Prize for Water.
The SR1million worth prize for innovation was shared by two research teams, a U.S. team led by Dr. Mark Zureda and Dr. Daren Deselts on the use of the cosmic ray probe to measure the rate of water and ice-incubated fish contents in soil while the other research team, was composed of Dr. Ignacio Rodriguez, a U.S. national, and Dr. Andrea Renaldo of Switzerland in the field of hydraulic environment on the relation between water, geomorphology and environment science.
The prize on the surface water and artesian water branches were withheld as the works submitted were short of qualification.
The non-traditional alternative water resources prize worth SR500,000 was won by Dr. Part Van Der Proghen of Belgium.
Dr. Shoros Soroshian of the U.S. won the Management and Protection of Water Resources worth SR500,000.
In a statement following the meeting, Prince Khalid bin Sultan described the prize as the biggest in the world of its kind, vowing that next year's meeting would approve a proposed strategy to enlarge the prize.
The giving away ceremony of the prizes to the winners would be held on 30 Zul-Hijja 1431 H., officials said, adding that the event would coincide with the opening ceremony of the 4th International Conference on Water Resources and Dry Environment 2010 to be held from 6-8 December 2010.
23:52 LOCAL TIME 20:52 GMT