Spain's Driver Miguel Azcona Wins FIA WTCR 2022 At Jeddah Corniche Circuit

Sunday 1444/5/3 - 2022/11/27
  • Share on Google+

Jeddah, Nov 27, 2022, SPA -- The Spanish auto racing driver Miguel Azcona of BRC Hyundai N Squadra Corse won the World Touring Car Cup "WTCR" title organized by the Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile, (FIA) in cooperation with the Saudi Motorsports Company, as competitions began yesterday at Jeddah Corniche Circuit, increasing his score to 305 points after the qualifying round ended yesterday before the final round race that will be held today, Sunday for the first time in its history.
The first day of FIA WTCR competitions at Jeddah Corniche circuit witnessed many entertainment and sports events, as the drivers participated in two sessions of free trials, as well as three qualifying rounds to determine the starting position in the two main races tomorrow, Sunday, and the audience enjoyed many entertainment activities in the fans area, which included live artistic and musical shows, as well as enjoying the most delicious types of food, karting events for children, and many activities that suit all tastes and ages.
After the end of the qualifying round, Nathanael Berthon, driver of Comtoyou DHL Team Audi Sport, booked the first starting position for today, Sunday's race, after he snatched the lead in the qualifying round from Hungarian Norbert Michels, driver of BRC Hyundai N Squadra Corse, on the last lap, while he scored Spaniard Miguel Azcona was the third fastest in the qualifying round, but he had clinched the title in the 2nd qualifying round, after his closest competitor, Argentina race car driver Néstor Girolami of Munich Motorsport, was unable to record the qualifying time among the top 12 drivers at the circuit.
After winning the title, Miguel Azcona said, “I come from a small family from a small village, and now I am a world champion. It is a feeling that cannot be described in words, thanks to my team and to my teammates as well. The track on the Jeddah Corniche circuit was very difficult, but very enjoyable for the drivers, and in the end, we were able to qualify for the third qualifying round, and it was very difficult to focus during it, as we reached the limit, and it was difficult to face Audi cars on the long track, but winning the title in this way is great.”
The drivers' standings before the final race:
First: Michael Azcona, 305 points
Second: Nestor Girolami, 237 points
Third: Nathanael Berthon, 210 points
Fourth: Rob Huff, 187 points
Fifth: Norbert Michels, 183 points
The standings of the teams before the final race were as follows:
First: BRC Hyundai N Squadra Corse, 488 points.
Second: Munich Motorsport, 372 points.
Third: Comtoyo DHL Audi Sport, 295 points.
Fourth: Comtoyo Audi Sport, 283 points.
Fifth: Zingo Motorsport, 251 points.
02:21 LOCAL TIME 23:21 GMT